Cleveland City Council

Cleveland City Hall, Room 216 601 Lakeside Avenue, N.E. Cleveland, OH 44114



Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, May 25, 2022 12:00 PM

SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL. There will be limited seating due to COVID protocols. See meeting notice for details.

Mercedes Cotner Committee Room 217

City Council

CALL TO ORDER; ROLL CALL

12:09 p.m.

Present 15 - Kerry McCormack, Kevin Conwell, Michael Polensek, Rebecca Maurer, Anthony T.

Hairston, Blaine A. Griffin, Brian Mooney, Charles Slife, Deborah A. Gray, Jenny Spencer, Joseph T. Jones, Kevin L. Bishop, Kris Harsh, Stephanie D. Howse, and

Richard A. Starr

Excused 2 - Brian Kazy, and Jasmin Santana

COMMUNICATIONS

<u>551-2022</u> Cleveland City Council Special Meeting Notice for May 25, 2022

Attachments: 551-2022-COMMUNICATIONS-Special Council Meeting Notice for

5-25-2022

This Communication was received and filed.

SECOND READING LEGISLATION

Emergency Ordinances Passed

482-2022 AN EMERGENCY ORDINANCE Establishing three areas

encompassing the entire City of Cleveland as Community Reinvestment Areas under Section 3735.65 et seq. of the Ohio Revised Code, and making certain findings and determinations in

connection with the Community Reinvestment Areas.

Sponsors: Anthony Hairston, Blaine Griffin and By Departmental Request

Attachments: 482-2022 as amended-desk copy-Final for 5-25-2022

482-2022-B-FILE - CRA

482-2022 Exec. Summary -Tax Abatement CRA 5.6.2022

482-2022-2022 Tax Abatement Renewal Table 05242022 Amended

482-2022-as introduced-Establishing 3 areas, encompassing all of

Cleveland, as CRAs

482-2022-A-FILE -Establishing 3 areas encompassing all of Cleveland

as CRAsx

482-2022 Presentation -2022 Tax Abatement Renewal

482-2022-desk copy-Final for 5-25-2022

A motion was made by Council Member McCormack, seconded by Council Member Jones, that this Emergency Ordinance be approved as amended. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yea: 15 - Kerry McCormack, Kevin Conwell, Michael Polensek, Rebecca Maurer, Anthony T. Hairston, Blaine A. Griffin, Brian Mooney, Charles Slife, Deborah A.

Gray, Jenny Spencer, Joseph T. Jones, Kevin L. Bishop, Kris Harsh, Stephanie

D. Howse, and Richard A. Starr

Excused: 2 - Brian Kazy, and Jasmin Santana

MOTION TO EXCUSE THE ABSENCES

The absences of Council Members Kazy and Santana were excused.

A motion was made by Council Member McCormack, seconded by Council Member Jones, that this be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yea: 15 - Kerry McCormack, Kevin Conwell, Michael Polensek, Rebecca Maurer, Anthony T. Hairston, Blaine A. Griffin, Brian Mooney, Charles Slife, Deborah A. Gray, Jenny Spencer, Joseph T. Jones, Kevin L. Bishop, Kris Harsh, Stephanie D. Howse, and Richard A. Starr

Excused: 2 - Brian Kazy, and Jasmin Santana

ADJOURN

12:55 p.m.