

<u>Item-707</u> Special Meeting of Cleveland City Council Meeting Notice for August 16, 2023

Attachments: Special Council Meeting Notice for 8-16-2023

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING AGENDA

CALL TO ORDER; ROLL CALL

10:06 p.m.

- Present 16 Brian Kazy, Kerry McCormack, Kevin Conwell, Michael Polensek, Rebecca Maurer, Anthony T. Hairston, Blaine A. Griffin, Charles Slife, Deborah A. Gray, Jenny Spencer, Joseph T. Jones, Kevin L. Bishop, Kris Harsh, Stephanie D. Howse, Richard A. Starr, and Danny Kelly
- **Excused** 1 Jasmin Santana

REPORTS AND COMMUNICATIONS

979-2023 Notice of Special Meeting of Council on August 16, 2023.

Attachments: 979-2023-COMMUNICATION-Special Council Meeting Notice for 8-16-2023

This Communication was received and filed.

FIRST READING LEGISLATION

•Emergency Ordinance Read in Full and Passed

- 980-2023 AN EMERGENCY ORDINANCE Authorizing the submission to the electors of the City of Cleveland of an initiative petition proposing to amend the Charter of the City of Cleveland by enacting new Sections 204-1 through 204-8 in Chapter 41 of the Charter, relating to a people's budget process.
 - <u>Sponsors:</u> By Initiative Petition
 - Attachments: 980-2023-FOR PASSAGE-Initiative petition charter amend people's budget

A motion was made by Council Member Maurer, seconded by Council Member Gray, that this Emergency Ordinance be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

- Yea: 16 Brian Kazy, Kerry McCormack, Kevin Conwell, Michael Polensek, Rebecca Maurer, Anthony T. Hairston, Blaine A. Griffin, Charles Slife, Deborah A. Gray, Jenny Spencer, Joseph T. Jones, Kevin L. Bishop, Kris Harsh, Stephanie D. Howse, Richard A. Starr, and Danny Kelly
- **Excused:** 1 Jasmin Santana

MOTION TO EXCUSE THE ABSENCES

The absence of Council Member Santana was excused.

A motion was made by Council Member Maurer, seconded by Council Member Gray, that this be approved. The motion carried by the following vote:

Yea: 16 - Brian Kazy, Kerry McCormack, Kevin Conwell, Michael Polensek, Rebecca Maurer, Anthony T. Hairston, Blaine A. Griffin, Charles Slife, Deborah A. Gray, Jenny Spencer, Joseph T. Jones, Kevin L. Bishop, Kris Harsh, Stephanie D. Howse, Richard A. Starr, and Danny Kelly

Excused: 1 - Jasmin Santana

ADJOURN

10:10 p.m.